Despair by Carmen

Despair came slowly
It crept like a hunting leopard
Approaching its prey.
It came into my world
Black and daunting as raven’s claws.
It robbed me of hope
And abducted my ambition.
My future became annexed with failure.
Despair inspired nothing.
It extracted the spirit
from that which gave life meaning.
It completely and wholly destroyed
all faith in everything.
Finally, totally, it will engulf my being
And wrench my soul
From the solid image it once held into an evil
never-ending void.
Despair, inevitably, will lead to death.

Written on 13 April
1994 when I was 16.

Leave a Reply

