4326

Yesterday I picked up a book from Foyles that I had ordered: McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern Issue 13, a beautiful hardcover book on comics. It is such a beautiful book. I worry about dirtying it when I read it. The dustcover unfolds to a beautiful large poster and there were also a couple of little comic books that came with it. It wasn’t cheap, £25, which is about 62 Australian dollars (yikes). I’m looking forward to my lunch-break today because I want to read it.

On Saturday we went to the Tate Modern to listen to a Chemical Brothers track that had been inspired by Jacob Epstein's Torso in Metal from 'The Rock Drill'. The track was pretty cool but the listening post just wasn’t close enough to the sculpture, I think, to really appreciate the link between the two and it was behind the sculpture so even when you stretched out the headphone cord as far as it went, you were still about a metre or two from the back or side of the sculpture! What is with that? I keep meaning to email them and tell them they need to turn the sculpture around or move the listening post.

On Saturday night I caught up with a friend from Brisbane, Thomas, and his brother Daniel which was nice. Thomas teaches at the University of Exeter. Paul and I went to a pub to meet them – we rarely go to pubs. Thomas had recently got back from Australia and had seen our friend Jen and her new baby boy, Otto.

On Sunday I went to a Stitch n bitch group in Ealing at a local pub. The people there seemed nice but I felt like a total beginner compared to the stuff they were doing. I did however pick up a book with a houndstooth pattern which is cool as houndstooth is all the rage at the moment and there are heaps of clothes in the shops covered in it (and I have liked the pattern for years). I have decided to learn to crochet. Last Friday I bought a crochet hook, some wool and a book: Stitch and Bitch Crochet: the Happy Hooker. It’s turning out to be a bit harder than I thought.

In the drawing course news, I have found (a rather expensive) one at Central St Martin’s art college which I really like the sound of and I really hope it has not filled up by the time I can afford to pay for it (which will be Friday).

Last night I watched the first of two shows on TV about manic depression, hosted by Stephen Fry. It was really interesting. It featured Robbie Williams, who has manic depression and Rick Stein (the chef) who talked about his father, who threw himself off a cliff because of his manic depression. He also talked to Carrie Fisher (who played Princess Leia) and other people who live with the ‘disease’ or ‘disorder’. I cried a few times when people talked about suicide attempts. It was a really good show. I hope I don’t forget to watch part 2 next Tuesday.

On the weekend I had a moment of homesickness for Brisbane. Lately I have wanted to buy particular things (like wool and crochet needle) and it took me a while to find somewhere to go to do that. I started wishing I still lived in Brisbane where I knew where everything was and things seemed so much easier and I wasn’t so broke all the time. Luckily I started remembering how hard I had found Brisbane when I first moved there (and how broke I was). I realised that I’ve only moved towns twice before, from Roma (in western Queensland) to Brisbane (when I was 17) and then to London nearly 4 months ago (aged 28). No wonder it’s hard! Anyway, I remembered that that first move was incredibly difficult and I got through it so I can cope with this one. It might take a while to find friends, get financially stable, learn where everything is, but I can do it. And I’m in London, if I can make it here, surely I can make it anywhere (well, maybe!). I still miss people in Australia though.

Leave a Reply

