Crocheting, Brontes, colds.

Gee, it's been a while since I've updated. Not a real lot has been happening.

I had a bit of a head cold for a while there, but nothing too serious. I spent most of the weekend before last resting and trying to get over it. I didn't go to my Stitch and Bitch meeting because I couldn't be bothered going out into the cold.

I have been practising my crocheting though. I'm going at it rather slowly but at least I'm slowly getting through the different stitches in my Stitch n Bitch crochet book. Who knows, I may even start a pattern soon.

I'm still deciding whether or not to knit myself a houndstooth vest. I was very excited about it but after doing a test piece, I realised it would take a lot of work and take a long time. Hmmmmmm.

On Saturday Paul worked and I spent a lot of the day pottering around the house, tidying up. It's so nice to be able to see the floor beside my bed again. I even did some drawing on Saturday. Which reminds me, I haven't reported on my first drawing class. Last Tuesday evening I went along to my first lesson of Foundation in Drawing at Central St Martins college. It was pretty cool. We did life drawing which I always find REALLY hard. I picked the class because it covers a variety of media and we draw different things each week – so it's not just life drawing (i.e. drawing people). I met some nice people and I think I will enjoy it.

Yesterday I borrowed a silly horror/sci-fi/alien film from my local library (Dreamcatcher – based on a Stephen King book) and Paul and I watched it in the evening – Paul has been a bit sick recently too. I also borrowed some CDs (hence the Morrissey lyrics in the previous post).

Last night I watched episode 3 of a 4-part series of Jane Eyre. It's such a great story and I love the bit where she asks Mr Rochester does he think that just because she is poor and plain that she has no feelings. Aaaaah, love those Brontes and their strong, independent female characters. I really want to read Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys. It is a prequel to Jane Eyre and is about Mr Rochester's first wife. I saw a mini-series on TV years ago and remember enjoying it.

The following is from 'From Antoinette to Bertha: the process of 'colonising' within the marriage in Rhys's Wide Sargasso Sea' http://www.qub.ac.uk/schools/SchoolofEnglish/imperial/carib/colonising-marriage.htm

“Jean Rhys' complex text, Wide Sargasso Sea, came about as an attempt to re-invent an identity for Rochester's mad wife, Bertha Mason, in Jane Eyre, as Rhys felt that Bronte had totally misrepresented Creole women and the West Indies: 'why should she think Creole women are lunatics and all that? What a shame to make Rochester's wife, Bertha, the awful madwoman, and I immediately thought I'd write a story as it might really have been.' (Jean Rhys: the West Indian Novels, p144). It is clear that Rhys wanted to reclaim a voice and a subjectivity for Bertha, the silenced Creole, and to subvert the assumptions made by the Victorian text. She does so with startling results. In her quest to re-instate Bertha's identity, Rhys raises issues such as the problems of colonisation, gender relations and racial issues. She explores the themes of displacement, Creolisation and miscegenation.”

I will have to check out this novel I think.

Leave a Reply

