Haircuts, reading, drawing, university.

The weekend before last I got a hair cut at Toni and Guy near where I live. I'm not entirely happy with it. It looks good but I feel like it's too much like a bob and I think I would have liked it to be a bit more layered. The stylist (as they seem to be called these days) said it was chic! Which you'd think I'd be happy with but I'm still making up my mind. I wish I had a camera so I could post a photo of it to get opinions of friends and family on it – most people here seem to like it. One woman I work with said it is very cute. As I'm kinda new to London I didn't really know what would be a good place to get my hair cut but I've had good haircuts at Toni and Guy in Australia so I thought I'd go there. It cost £36 which doesn't seem too bad if you don't convert to Australian Dollars (gotta stop timesing everything by two and a half!).

After writing yesterday of wanting to read Wide Sargasso Sea, I read that it was on TV last night. I didn't watch it though – I was too tired – so I will have to get hold of it and try to read it. Although, I am in the middle of a LOT of books at the moment. Here are some of the books I am reading at the moment: The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson, Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood, The Sexual Life of Catherine M by Catherine Millet, How Full Is Your Bucket: Positive Strategies for Life and Work by Tom Rath, The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett. And these are just the ones I can remember. I keep telling myself, there isn't enough time to read every book I would like. I need to be more selective.

I have my drawing class again tonight. I'm looking forward to it but I still get nervous – all those new people, seeing my drawing that I don't think is very good. Last week we were taken down to the canteen in our break but it wasn't open so we all went into the bar. People sat down in there but I left as soon as I'd bought a drink because of all the smoke – I hate smoking. So I was waiting out in the empty canteen all alone feeling like a bit of a loser when two other women came out of the bar and joined me, so we had a bit of a chat and it was nice (they didn't like the smoke either).

A letter has arrived for me in Australia about re-enrolling in my Visual Arts course at QUT. They let you defer for one year but I don't know how hard it is to get further deferment. I'm going to see if I can defer another year but I just found out how big my HECS debt is (Higher Education Contribution Scheme – i.e. how much I owe the Australian government for all my years of university study) and it is huge so I'm not so sure I want to go back and finish the Vis Arts course – although, I really really enjoyed it last year. But, I do strongly believe that you do not need to go to university to be an artist.

Oh well, I will try to defer again and see what happens. Who knows, I may not want to go back to Australia by the beginning of next year. I have felt a bit homesick recently but I don't know a lot of people here and I'm still finding my feet so I can't really decide to leave just yet!

Better get to work

Carmen

Leave a Reply

