Books recommended by my therapist

In my first session, my therapist, [who is a middle-aged, American woman – in case you care about such things] recommended I get three books:

[photopress:selfest.jpg,full,pp_image]
Self Esteem by Matthew McKay and Richard Fanning
[photopress:mindovermood.jpg,full,pp_image]
Mind Over Mood: Change How You Feel by Changing the Way You Think by Dennis Greenberger, PhD and Christine A Padesky, PhD
[photopress:feelinggood.jpg,full,pp_image]
and Feeling Good: the New Mood Therapy by David D Burns, MD.

I haven’t found Self Esteem in a book shop yet but I bought Mind Over Mood and the Feeling Good Handbook (below) which I thought was pretty much the same as Feeling Good but was updated and had exercises in it (and I couldn’t find Feeling Good). Unfortunately it has a picture of the author on the cover which just reminds me of Bob Downe*!
[photopress:feelgoodhandbook.jpg,full,pp_image]

My therapist has since recommended:
[photopress:toward.jpg,full,pp_image]
Toward a New Psychology of Women by Jean Baker Miller
[photopress:newmind.jpg,full,pp_image]
and A Whole New Mind by Daniel H Pink

*Bob Downe is a character of the Australian comedian Mark Trevorrow. He is really camp and wears awful 1970s polyester suits.

4 Responses to Books recommended by my therapist

  1. barry says:

    jeez! you have to read all of them?

  2. zinegeek says:

    Well, she usually gets me to read a particular chapter each week from the two I’ve bought so far. And there are three that she wants me to get and the others are really recommendations.

  3. janettee says:

    i remember from a cognitive psych subject that new mood therapy book is just about as effective as CBT and drugs for treating depression, and that was quite good. in fact i thought i would have told you about this book myself…? sorrrrry if i didn’t.

  4. janettee says:

    oh and he does look distractingly like bob downe

Leave a Reply

