The Order of the Phoenix and the Deathly Hallows!

Ok, more Harry Potter:

Have recently seen the trailer for Harry Potter film number 5, Order of the Phoenix and it looks great! Can’t wait till July 12 when it comes out.

There are also a couple of books out at the moment theorising about what might happen in Harry Potter book 7 (the final one!). Paul thinks I should just wait till the book (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows) comes out and read it but that’s not the point. I’m not very good at coming up with ideas about what might happen so I want to read other people’s ideas.

My flatmate Edith thinks that Harry will die because he contains one of the Horcuxes of Voldemort (in his scar) so in order to defeat Voldemort he will have to die. But my flatmate Will was quite adamant that Harry should not (and will not) die. I thought Edith’s theory was quite interesting. If you don’t know what a Horcrux is you’ll have to read the books.
[photopress:endofharry.jpg,full,pp_image]
On Friday night Paul and I bought some books, including The End of Harry Potter? by David Langford. I finished it over the weekend and I really enjoyed its theorising about what might happen in the final book, based on what’s happened so far, interviews given by JK Rowling and the conventions of the fantasy genre.

I liked the book because it addressed a bunch of loose ends that should be tied up in the final book, along with various theories about what might happen and where it may go, as well as looking at heaps of characters’ names and other things. I’m kinda counting on one of my flatmates buying the book so I can just read theirs.

Leave a Reply

