More sad news – We’ll miss you Gordon.

At work today I received a phone call from Paul. He was crying. His good friend Gordon has died in a car accident. The last we’d heard he was traveling around Tasmania. I couldn’t believe it. I got off the phone and cried and cried. I left work straight away and came home and held Paul while we both cried. I think Gordon was only 29. Too young to be taken from us. Paul and he had a lot of good times together. When I moved out of my flat I’d lived in for years in New Farm, to move in with Paul, Gordon took over the flat. He lived there for a while and he would often come round to visit, or we’d go round to see him. He was a good person, and he cared a lot about the injustices of the world. He liked to make music too. He had a little niece, Matilda, who he cared about a lot. I never met her but he wanted to teach her to play music. Now, she won’t get to know him. I often felt that he was a fellow lost soul – trying to make his way through a harsh world. Now, we will never get to see him again. Or talk to him again. It’s times like these I hope there is an afterlife.

One Response to More sad news – We’ll miss you Gordon.

  1. janettee says:

    geez. that’s aweful. i rang JT to let him know cause they were mates, he’s still taking it in. hugs to paulie c and to you. janettee

Leave a Reply

