Trilogies and sad films

On Friday night I watched the third Lord of the Rings film, The Return of the King. It was good but long – it goes for four hours. So now I know what happens in the Lord of the Rings. Maybe one day I will read the books. I am planning on reading The Hobbit first.

On Saturday I went to the cinema to watch The Kite Runner and it is one of the saddest films I have ever seen. I cried a lot. I haven’t read the book by Khaled Hosseini but Paul’s Mum gave me A Thousand Splendid Suns by him and I’m looking forward to reading that one of these days.

On Sunday I got started on a cross-stitch project, which felt good. It has really been annoying me that I haven’t been making any art lately. I also watched the third Pirates of the Caribbean film. It was silly but entertaining.

2 Responses to Trilogies and sad films

  1. janettee says:

    maybe the kite runner movie is better than the book. we read it for book club and it was generally not really appreciated as it was overly formulaic, simplistic and the narrator was downright neurotic- the whole book revolves around his guilt and shame at witnessing nasty things that SOMEONE ELSE did. as if he could have changed the situation as a weedy 7 year old.

  2. zinegeek says:

    That’s really interesting Netty. Watching the film, after the main character witnessed the rape of his friend and he didn’t intervene (as you said, he was a kid) I thought his guilt would be a much bigger issue for the rest of the film than it turned out to be. He turned on his friend after the event – which I guessed was due to his guilt at not doing anything – but it didn’t seem to be a huge issue in his life. You knew that it must have been part of why he had such a sense of duty to the son of his friend years later, but he didn’t seem neurotic about it. Maybe I’ll skip reading Kite Runner and read A Thousand Splendid Suns (I already have a copy of that one).

Leave a Reply

