Art and books on a Sunday in London

Today Paul and I went to the Tate Modern and went to the Juan Munoz exhibition. It was ok. I liked some of the art but it wasn’t amazing.

Paul has been happily reading the books I bought him for his birthday (which was last Wednesday): Yes! 50 Secrets from the science of persuasion by Noah J Goldstein, Steve J Martin and Robert B Cialdini (which he has finished), The Undercover Economist by Tim Harford (which he’s two-thirds through), and The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich by Timothy Ferriss. I am also renewing his New Scientist subscription (which I started for his birthday last year). We get the New Scientist magazine every week and I just don’t read it that often but I wish I did.

Last night I finally finished The Amber Spyglass, the third book in Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy. I was getting a bit bored with the whole story early on in the third book so it took me a while to finish it. Now, which book to read next? Should I finish some of the nonfiction books I have started? Female Chauvinist Pigs by Ariel Levy, How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie, Skin: Talking about sex, class and literature by Dorothy Allison, An Adult Child’s Guide to What’s “Normal” by John Friel and Linda Friel. Or should I finish some of the fiction books I have started? She Came to Stay by Simone de Beauvoir, the Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing. I have so many other books to read too but I’d like to finish all the books I’ve started before moving on.

Leave a Reply

