head cold, Spaced and Saul Williams

I’ve spent most of this week home with a head cold. I think it’s a viral infection – which is certainly better than all the nasty bacterial infections I had over winter (all the tonsilitis, chest infections, etc). I don’t feel as bad but am still miserable.

I have been reading the Stone Gods by Jeanette Winterson. I don’t think it’s her best book but I am only two thirds through it. I’ve also been watching Spaced episodes and films from Wholphin 3.

I have bought tickets for Paul and I to see Saul Williams in May. I’m really looking forward to it. He is a poet and spoken word performer as well as a singer and his stuff is amazing! I had been meaning to check him out for ages and then when Lucy came to stay she recommended I go see him so the other day I watched a bunch of clips of him on Youtube and was very impressed. Check it out below!

Above is Not In Our Name (the Pledge of Resistance) which (I’m pretty sure) was on a CD I once got with New Internationalist.


Here he is performing Coded Language at a Def Poetry Jam.

Above is the song List of Demands. He’s also done quite a good cover of U2’s Sunday Bloody Sunday which is on his new album The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of Niggy Tardust. I listened to a recording of him on a radio show where he articulated a lot of the concerns and criticisms I have of a lot of hiphop (like gangsta rap, etc). Check him out on Youtube. He’s amazing.

One Response to head cold, Spaced and Saul Williams

  1. janettee says:

    spaced is so clever. i watched hot fuzz again last week and it made me giggle.

    hope you are feeling better soon

Leave a Reply

