Music, books, friends and the gym!

On Tuesday night I went to see Saul Williams and he was AMAZING. Unfortunately Paul wasn’t feeling well so he went home during the support act but I stayed because I really wanted to see him. I definitely need to get his albums now (Amethyst Rock Star, Saul Williams, the Inevitable Rise and Liberation of Niggy Tardust) and check out his books of poetry, he’s fantastic.

Last night I went to a reading group at the Women’s Library and we discussed Beloved by Toni Morrison. I really enjoyed it and wish it was happening again soon (they’re not having another for a few months!).

I went to a class at the gym this morning (an aerobics class) which was good (but hard at times). Unfortunately I now have a blister on the sole of my foot! I was really hoping that after we moved I would go to the gym more often and I am. It takes so much will-power to get up before work and go but I did it once this week and once last week and I just need to get it up to twice a week (before work) and then once on the weekend and I’ll have reached my three-times-a-week gym target! Or if I went every Monday, Wednesday, Friday morning I could have the weekend off!

After I got back from the gym I got a phone called from Monica in Uganda! Her baby is due Monday which is exciting but I think she and (partner) Dave are both quite anxious about being parents but I don’t think they should be. They’ll both make great parents. Monica has recommended I read We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver. I’ve heard it has a lot to say on the expectations and experiences of motherhood.

One Response to Music, books, friends and the gym!

  1. kitschenette says:

    ‘kevin’ is the next book for my book club…it’s a, um, compelling read, to say the least…

Leave a Reply

