Graphic novel fangirl

Yesterday, paul and I went to the ICA to hear Raymond Briggs and Bryan Talbot talk about their work. It was really nice. Afterward, I had some books of theirs signed and I felt like a total fangirl afterwards (like the time I went to a book-signing of Neil Gaiman!).
I have a copy of Raymond Briggs’ When the Wind Blows back in Australia (a meloncholy tale about the uselessness of government advice on dealing with nuclear winter) and I was familiar with his Snowman book but only recently realised he wrote and illustrated a beloved book from my childhood, Father Christmas. They had his book Gentleman Jim for sale so I bought it and got it signed!
IMAG0357 IMAG0358
I have Bryan Talbot’s Alice in Sunderland – an amazing visual feast about Lewis Carroll‘s connections to the North-East of England around Sunderland. Much has been made of the Alice books’ connections to Oxford (Carroll lived and taught there and told his stories to the children of a colleague, including Alice Liddell) but little has been said/written about his and the Liddell family’s ties to the Sunderland area. Alice in Sunderland explores those ties as well as exploring the history of this part of Britain and it’s really fascinating. Anyway, I brought this book along and had it signed!
IMAG0363IMAG0365
IMAG0364
Years ago I read Bryan Talbot’s the Tale of One Bad Rat and as they had it for sale yesterday I bought it and got it signed too. It is about a girl who runs away from home because of her father’s sexual abuse and she ends up going up to the Lake District because that is where Beatrix Potter is from and the girl is a big fan of Beatrix Potter. It’s a really good book about the aftermath of abuse and dealing with it and aparently the book is used in schools and universities in the US and they use it at sexual assault centres with kids who have been abused as they often find it hard to talk about it.
IMAG0359IMAG0361
IMAG0360
Oh, and today I had my haircut which you can see in the photos above!

One Response to Graphic novel fangirl

  1. janettee says:

    yeah, good hair. and cool signings!!

Leave a Reply

