Too many books?

The Book Collection That Devoured My Life By LUC SANTE from the Wall Street Journal. I love owning books. I probably only read a quarter of the books I buy (I mean to read them all) and I really want to own a library one day (ok, technically you could say I have a library of books already, but I want to own a house that has a room dedicated primarily to books, books that I will own).

2 Responses to Too many books?

  1. janettee says:

    i comfort myself with books, i have them piled around my bed. however, i find that i tend not to read books i own because i can “read them at any time” and instead prioritise the mountains of library books and loans and upcoming bookclub books. now i tend to avoid buying books apart from those i totally love and want to share with others. and also because i own too much stuff. tyler durden says in fight club “the things you own end up owning you”… particularly when you have to move house…. but i have jealousy over your book collection neverthaless!!

  2. Jen says:

    I used to love owning books but then moved too much – books are very very heavy!! Now I am a devotee of public libraries. We have great public libraries in Edinburgh.
    Anyway my wallet couldn’t possibly keep up with my habit!

Leave a Reply

