Currently reading:

I always seem to be in the middle of many books, some of which won’t actually get finished, but why waste your time finishing a book if it’s not good enough to keep you interested, right?
Anyway, below is a list of books I have started (and might finish):
Selling Out by Justina Robson
Apparently (according to Paul’s sister), Paul’s Dad has a habit of buying books he has already read but because it has a different cover he doesn’t recognise it. He sees the new cover, thinks ‘oh a new book by an author I like’, he takes it home and starts reading only to find he’s already read it! This is what happened with this book when they were over here recently (Sept-Oct) and so he left it with us, much to my delight when I went looking through our bookshelf for something fun to read. I started reading Selling Out and have found it a fun story infused with sci-fi technology and fantasy characters (the futuristic world we know is now in contact/connection with an elvish world, a fairy world and a demon world). It wasn’t till I looked up this book that I found it is actually the second in a series (The Quantum Gravity series) which is probably a good sign for the book that I didn’t feel I was seriously missing something when I started reading it and didn’t realise it was a sequel. If I’m still enjoying it when I finish I might look up the first book, Keeping it Real, and the third book, Going Under.

Colonize This: Young Women of Color on Today’s Feminism edited by Daisy Hernandez and Bushra Rehman
I have only read a couple of the stories in this one but it is very good. As a white feminist I think it is very important to read the stories of people who are not white – I don’t want to be one of those white feminists who talks about my experience as if it is the experience of all women.

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
I had been meaning to read this for a while for a couple of reasons: 1) to check out the whole racist issue about Friday and 2) the link between the character Robinson and Psychogeography. I’m about halfway through now (but it’s quite slow and boring).

The Reality Dysfunction by Peter F Hamilton
I’m not very far into this thousand-page sci-fi novel and I was enjoying it but it’s just so big, and it’s only the first of a three-parter!

I’m also reading the quirky short stories No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July (of Me and You and Everyone We Know), Plan to Get Pregnant by Zita West, Taking the Leap: Building a Career as a Visual Artist by Cay Lang and Novel Writing: 16 Steps to Success by Evan Marshall

Leave a Reply

