Lots of art and hummous

On Saturday afternoon Paul and I went to the Mythologies exhibition at Haunch of Venison (that I had been to during the week). Paul liked lots of the stuff there too. I liked the rude silhouettes by Tim Noble and Sue Webster. There were skeletons of Tweety and Sylvester in full flight by Hyungkoo Lee (which we’re sure we’ve seen before). Carlos Amorales had some cool films – one had floating black objects of varying shapes and sizes and it wasn’t until I recognised mainland Australia and then Alaska that I figured out what was going on. I realised that there are a lot of countries/islands that I don’t know or recognise! Every now and then, the black shapes would all come together and become a map of the world. When all the countries and islands are separated it is hard to tell them apart (but I did recognise Italy, the US, Greenland, mainland Australia, Spain and Iceland). The exhibition space was pretty cool too. I think I read that the private gallery (Haunch of Venison) have leased the space from the Royal Academy for three years.
Art by Heather and Ivan Morison at Mythologies at Haunch of Venison
Art at Mythologies
After that we headed East to Liminal: A Question of Position at Iniva in Shoreditch which was small but had some cool interactive new media art. As we were close by we went and checked out the White Cube Hoxton Square and saw Ashley Bickerton: Recent Wurg which was ok. By this point we couldn’t be bothered going up to the Victoria Miro Gallery to check out the dancing in the gallery (even though it wasn’t that far up the road).

On our way to Iniva we got a bus that didn’t quite go where I was expecting but it did take us right next to Bunhill Fields Cemetery which I was very excited about. William Blake, Daniel Defoe and other nonconformists are buried there!
The gravestone of William Blake at Bunhill Fields
A memorial to Daniel Defoe near his grave in Bunhill Fields
A grave in Bunhill Fields
Gravestones at Bunhill Fields
I really want to go to Abney Park Cemetery again and take photos – it is really big and overgrown and is packed with graves.

Saturday night we had dinner with Matt and Neena at Hummous Brothers in Soho. It was really yummy and we hadn’t seen them in ages (since last year some time).

On Saturday morning Paul had a microsoft exam and he got 100%! Well done him. Only three more exams to go.
Paul and I reflected

2 Responses to Lots of art and hummous

  1. DanBUK says:

    I like the idea of the Hummous Brothers food, but when I went their I found their Hummous too rich. How did you find it?

    Well done on the exam Paul!

    Cheers,
    DanB.

  2. zinegeek says:

    Hummous Bros hummous is rich but I don’t think it’s too rich. Their meals are very filling, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

