What a fun weekend

I have had a really awesome fun weekend.

On Friday night Paul and I went to Cargo in East London for Brendon’s birthday (Paul works with Brendon).

On Saturday we went to St. Paul’s Cathedral. We climbed up to the Whispering Gallery and then up to the Stone Gallery. The photos below are from/on the Stone Gallery (376 steps up).
Paul at St Paul's
Carmen at St Paul's Cathedral
London from St Paul's Cathedral
Tate Modern, Millenium Bridge and Shakespeare's Globe from St Paul's Cathedral
Above is Tate Modern, the Millenium Bridge and Shakespeare’s Globe from St Paul’s Cathedral. In the crypt we saw the tombs of Horatio Nelson, Wellington and Christopher Wren and memorials to William Blake and Florence Nightingale.

After that we went and saw X-Men Origins: Wolverine. Just as I’d suspected it was really light on the female characters – but the action and special effects were pretty amazing (if not quite cheesey at times). I did enjoy it. I hope there are more Origins films. When we got home X-men 2 was on telly so I watched it. The third film was on TV recently and I insisted on watching that too (Paul is getting a little sick of X-Men now).

On Sunday we went to the London Zine Symposium. I bought two full-colour, very pretty zines and one of them came with a cassette tape (no idea yet how I’m going to listen to it). I got a couple of other zines too that I’m looking forward to reading.
Girl Photographer Three, a zine I bought at the London Zine Symposium, may 3, 2009
Inside Girl Photographer Three, a zine I bought at the London Zine Symposium, may 3, 2009
Inside Girl Photographer Three, a zine I bought at the London Zine Symposium, may 3, 2009
12 Gates to the City, a zine I bought at the London Zine Symposium, may 3, 2009
We had quite a posse of people by this point so after the zine fair, we went up and had food from the Truman Brewery on Brick Lane and then we headed back to the club Cargo (where Paul and I had been on Friday night) for the Modular Records Recession party. It was heaps of fun. Lots of chatting with interesting people and then I got to see JD Samson (from Le Tigre) DJ (see blurry photo below) and I had a really good dance (which I haven’t done in ages). We also got to see her new band Men – they were awesome! Really fun banging tunes with political lyrics (my favourite kind of music). I bought their three-track CD sampler which has been on high-rotation since.
JD Samson DJing at Cargo, London, May 3, 2009
A 3-track CD sampler from Men
Unfortunately when Paul and I went to the tube station we got there too late to get the tube all the way home so we got halfway home and then waited for ages as very full night buses went by and didn’t stop for us (we walked about 2km towards home at this point before a bus finally stopped to pick us up). It took us two hours to get from the club to home. We had had a great day so it wasn’t too bad.

Paul and I spent Monday recovering (it’s a long weekend here). We slept in, then watched the Dollhouse and TED talks and I worked on my art. I am steadily getting through a project I’m working on at the moment (a quilt).

I think I might have a job interview this week which is good – but I don’t want to get my hopes up too much.

Leave a Reply

