All I’m doing is studying and running (oh, and looking after the baby)

I’ve had four weeks of classes and I’m feeling stressed/worried/out of my depth with the workload (especially as the bubba has missed quite a bit of childcare from being ill). I discovered on Friday that a number of other people in my classes (who incidentally don’t have a baby) are also crazily stressed with the workload. I’m loving being a Cultural Studies Honours student but really am not getting as much reading done as I would like, especially on my thesis (I have so much reading for the coursework). For my thesis I do get to look at stuff like this and this, but I should be spending more time on stuff like this.  I have to give two presentations this week, which I’m a bit worried about, and as soon as they’re done, I have essays to start. I knew this semester would be tough. I just have to find a way to get the work done.

So on top of the study I’m also training for the Gold Coast Half Marathon in July. And what a time commitment that is. Last weekend I did my first race, the Twilight Running Festival 10km run. It was pretty awesome. I wanted to do it in 1 hour 10 minutes. I did it in 1 hour 2 minutes 23 seconds. I was really chuffed. Paul wanted to go in it too but he’d had a head cold and a sore ankle so he was pretty bummed to miss it. It was quite a change to be surrounded by 1500 runners when I normally run by myself. It certainly helped me run much faster than normal. Paul and I joined a gym a couple of months ago and I have hardly been going but I’ve finally done the two free personal training sessions we got when we joined so I’ll now have a program that’s been made especially for me – I said I wanted to work on my strength and I want it to help my running. I think it will be good. I’d much rather be out pounding the pavement than in a gym doing weights but I think this program will be good, even though I only plan to do it once a week.

2 Responses to All I’m doing is studying and running (oh, and looking after the baby)

  1. highrotation says:

    Carmen, I love reading about your life back in Brisvegas – please post more when you have time (I know this can be tricky 🙂 ). You sound very busy but I know that you’ll find a way to make it all work and it will be absolutely worth it in the end – and believe me, it does get easier as the babes get older 🙂

    Looking forward to seeing you in July,
    Cheriexo

  2. Janettee says:

    Hey impressment with the 10k time, that’s fabulous! Can’t wait to go running with you. Hang in there with the study, it was always going to be a tough workload but hell you’ve given birth, you can do anything!

Leave a Reply

