More books!!!

Well I’m a very lucky girl with very loving friends who love to lavish books upon me. Four more books arrived for me today from my Amazon wishlist. They are from my friend Sally and they are Watership Down by Richard Adams, Skin: Talking about Sex, Class and Literature by Dorothy Allison, the Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing and the Official Highway Code (I’ve been thinking maybe I should get my drivers license while I’m here – I never got around to it in Australia). The very cool thing about having a wishlist is that if someone buys you anything from it, it’s something that you want. If I stay up late enough I can call Sally in brisbane and thank her. It’s six in the morning there now; she could even be up now feeding her baby!

I don’t think I have said what Scott from work gave me for my birthday; three (rather fat) fantasy novels: Daughter of the Empire by Raymond E Feist and Janny Wurts, Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey and Magician by Raymond E Feist. And on top of that, he has been cleaning out his house and he brought in three shopping bags full of paperbacks he didn’t want. I’ve brought home a handful of Anne McCaffrey fantasy novels (I really seem to be getting into the dragonny fantasy these days) as well as some other fantasy and sci-fi he was getting rid of.

I got the book Sulphuric Acid by Amelie Nothomb from Daniel. I’ve finished it already. It was good.

I think I got given 17 books for my birthday. Wow, I’ve been in total book heaven!

Leave a comment